Skip to content

In The News

Webinar recording: Investing in the DRC’s mining sector

Profile

Eric Bruggeman, SACEEC CEO took part in a webinar broadcast on 12 June 2019

08h30 New York | 12h30 GMT | 13h30 London | 14h30 Johannesburg |14h30 Paris | 18h00 New Delhi

The Democratic Republic of Congo has undergone a period of transformation over the last year with the introduction of a revised Mining Code whose legislation seeks to benefit all stakeholders in terms of social, environmental and economic upliftment. But it has also increased taxes and placed a high royalty rate on speciality minerals including cobalt and coltan as determined by government.

Now, just over a year later, has the consequences of the new laws been beneficial or not? Understanding the operating environment within the DRC does not have to be an onerous task and it doesn’t have to have a negative impact on your bottom line. 

The webinar unpacked the following topics:
  • Key advice on how to adapt your business to comply with the revised Mining Code
  • The untapped mining potential in the DRC – does this outweigh higher taxes and royalties?
  • How well-established major mining companies are dealing with the revised Mining Code changes
  • First-hand experience in establishing a new mining operation in the DRC following implementation of the Code
  • The pros and cons when incorporating a registered company in the DRC
  • Other things to consider when investing in the DRC

To download a copy of the broadcast, please follow the link and register:

https://goto.webcasts.com/starthere.jsp?ei=1248255&tp_key=639e21f311 

Panelists:

 

headshot

Eric Bruggeman,
CEO,
South African Capital Equipment Export Council

headshot

Louis Watum,
MD: DRC Operations,
Ivanhoe Mines DRC

headshot

Edmond Cibamba
Attorney at Law ( Partner)
EMW & Associates

Share Article :

SACEEC Membership

The Capital Equipment Export Council is uniquely positioned to assist our members to increase their international business and exports

Scroll To Top